top of page

Tue, 29 Nov


The Forum

Leia Zhu & Bath Philharmonia

A musical exploration of struggle, conflict and resolution across the decades including Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony and featuring British violinist Leia Zhu (one of Classic FM’s 30 brilliant musicians under 30) performing Beethoven’s Violin Concerto.

Registration is closed
See other events
Leia Zhu & Bath Philharmonia
Leia Zhu & Bath Philharmonia

Time & Location

29 Nov 2022, 19:30

The Forum, Avon, 1A Forum Buildings, Bath BA1 1UG, UK

About the Event

Leia Zhu plays with poise and musical intelligence beyond her years

The Guardian

Conflict and resolution have played out throughout the centuries influencing composers to produce some of their greatest and influential pieces. Written in 1806, during the uncertainty of the Napoleonic era, Beethoven wrote his masterpiece, the Violin Concerto. This mammoth work takes the listener on a journey through war and struggle to finally an outpouring of joyous thanks. Joining Bath Philharmonia for this epic journey is 16-year-old British violinist Leia Zhu. Lauded for her musical maturity, expressive interpretations and impressive technical ability, Leia is recognised as a star of the future.

Grażyna Bacewicz’s Divertimento for Strings, written in Poland during the Cold War looks at the wreckage of war in her own country in a sarcastic and sardonic manner, whilst Philip Herbert’s moving Elegy reflects on the very modern tragedy of the murder of Stephen Lawrence. In comparison, Prokofiev wrote the Classical Symphony as an escape from the Russian Revolution and the Great War, producing one the happiest pieces ever written for orchestra.

The performance of Grażyna Bacewicz’s Divertimento for Strings is made possible with funding from the ABO Trust’s Sirens programme, a ten-year initiative to support the performance and promotion of music by historical women composers.

Tickets £35/£30/£25/£5 under 18s


Full programme:

Philip Herbert, Elegy: In Memoriam – Stephen Lawrence

Grażyna Bacewicz, Divertimento for Strings

Sergei Prokofiev, Classical Symphony


Ludwig van Beethoven, Violin Concerto

Share This Event

bottom of page